Texas, Oklahoma, and Florida Issue Travel Restrictions for Louisiana Visitors

Texas Governor Greg Abbott announced Monday that his state will now be implementing a mandatory 14-day self quarantine on all visitors arriving from Louisiana. Troopers from the Texas Department of Public Safety will be stationed at entry points on the Texas-Louisiana border, checking license plates and requiring Louisiana drivers to fill out paperwork detailing their travel and quarantine plans. However, motorists traveling to Texas for commercial activities, military service, emergency response, health response, or critical infrastructure functions are exempted. Click “Download” to read Governor Abbott’s Executive Order. 

In addition to Abbott’s action, Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt announced yesterday that his state will be implementing a similar 14-day self quarantine restriction on visitors from Louisiana. Unlike in Texas, Oklahoma’s commercial exemptions ONLY apply to eight specific activities such as the delivery of food and medical supplies. Click “Download” to read Governor Stitt’s proclamation. 

Last week, Florida Governor Ron DeSantis also issued a travel restriction for his state. The Florida Highway Patrol and local law enforcement agencies have set up checkpoints along interstates and highways to screen travelers, and Louisiana motorists will be required to fill out paperwork and self quarantine for 14 days. As in Texas, all commercial activities are exempted. Click “Download” to read Governor DeSantis’ Executive Order.

Leave a Reply